The face in the mirror

Friday, June 24, 2011

Living outside the box

So I have come to the conclusion that a lot of Americans tend to fuss about things way too much to actually enjoy life. Well I'm sure a lot of people do....but I have never met a group of people who are more afraid of germs and water currents.

I'm living with the twins for the summer, and I love them to death. But if you know us you would realize that the biggest difference between them and myself is that....well I love to climb things, jump, run, ride etc they aren't really into any of that...at all.

So this has resulted in a more than mildly frustrated albino African. I usually run or play soccer or something every day....I usually climb something or go exploring every weekend....well I haven't done anything even close to that....for the past 50 days of my life (totally not exaggerating). I feel like I'm about to explode, I feel trapped...starved.

We were going to go to the river on Saturday...and go tubing. I was super excited. Now we're not going anymore....because 5 people died in the current last year. Man...I swam in rivers that I knew had hippos in and suspected crocodiles to be in..I raced people from one end of a lake to the other, for fun. I've climbed everything imaginable, eaten worms and lots of other random things. I'll hold any snake you hand me, ride anything that will stay still long enough for me to get on it..regardless of whether it's been trained or not.

I eat my food after a fly sits on it(well not anymore..), or after I drop it on the floor...no it's not gross unless you're cleaning is nonexistent. Honestly I think peoples' germ phobias and super precautions hold them back...I live my life..I enjoy it. I breathe and see and feel so much more than I would if I boxed myself in and worried about things like insect repellent or whether a cut will get infected or whether that tree might be a little too high. I push boundaries, I like it.

God gave us His amazing creation...why not enjoy it?!

No comments:

Post a Comment